Exciting Frustrations

Hi all, it’s Audrey. I’m still working on putting all of the names and dates from my enormous Coventry tree up on ancestry.com. I’m a bit overwhelmed by it, because the earliest ancestor on that tree dates back to 1281. However, his name is Henry de Coventre, and I think it’s fascinating that I can trace some ancestors back to when French was still spoken in England! I’m really excited to finally get this tree completed on Ancestry.

I have a much smaller tree from my paternal grandmother’s side of the family, so that wasn’t too difficult to incorporate. However, both of these trees have given me hundreds of hints, much more than I expected! I’m trying to figure out whether I want to finish all of the names I have or start going through the hints. At this point I’m doing a bit of both so I don’t go too crazy!

My mother’s side of the tree is a bit more difficult. As far as I know, we don’t have any records down on paper, so I’m waiting to hear from my grandparents what they know. Unfortunately they’re in France so getting quick hold of them and completely relying on them for information isn’t the easiest thing to do. I’m fairly confident that I should get at least a few generations from my grandmother, but I should run in to more problems with my grandfather. He did not grow up in a religious family so I’m not sure if there would be any churches he could go to for records. His parents also died when he was young, so he has very little memory of them. Hopefully my tree will end up better than I’m expecting it to at this point!

My next step is to try to find any records or photographs that we have in the family. Again, I’m relying completely on my foreign relatives, so we’ll see how successful this search will be!