Immigration and Birth Place Confusion

Hey, everyone. After getting back my DNA results from 23andMe, it confirmed what I thought that I had primarily European roots (99.9%, actually). So it wouldn’t seem like it should be too hard to find out info, right?

Well, partly. I’ve got the arrival dates and census records for my mother’s Italian side and for the Russian side of my father, but things are a bit hazy after that (and I’m still working on the Polish portion).

Image

I’ve found out some military involvement (mostly in the Navy) on both sides of the family, which honestly surprised me. But the thing that is confusing me right now is my great-grandmother on my father’s side’s place of birth. I’ve got relatives who say Pawloska, Poland, but then I saw on an arrival ticket it was actually in Russia. And Google… hasn’t really helped.

I really want to get to the bottom of this.