Marriage Confusion

So I’ve tracked my family on my mothers side pretty far back. I’ve learned that a majority of my great (many greats) grandparents were white, then along the line someone married an African American woman- making the next generation mulatto (which is biracial in todays terms).

The problem is my great great great great great (5 Greats) grandmother, Nancy Hunter, was supposedly born in 1814. Her husband, my Great grandfather (5 greats) Samuel Garrett, supposedly died in 1812. Call me crazy, but she was born after her “husband” died. All the information after their marriage- including children and grandchildren, seems to be accurate. Could it be just the wrong dates of birth and death? I called all relatives who would know but they have a hard time remembering ! I guess more in depth research would solve the confusion…right?

One thought on “Marriage Confusion

Comments are closed.