Searching Process and Possible Mislabeled Census

Usually when I’m looking for a person in my family I do so by the census. That way I’m able to see a person and their parents. Sometimes the person will still be living with their parents the first few years into their marriage, so I’m able to see the parents and their spouse. When that doesn’t work, however, I try to find death certificates to link a person to their parents. For example, I knew my 4th great grandfather’s name, Ned Spearman, and his father, my 5th great grandfather,` who was Willis Spearman, but I didn’t know his mom’s name. Using his death certificate, I was able to find that his mother was Maryan Floyd.

There has also been a time where I may have found the census to be wrong. I’ve been looking for my Great Grandmother Corrine Dodd, and I find a census that has her and her family listed, the only problem is that her family is listed on ancestry as being white. I think this may be an error, though because when I look at the actual census, it looks like there’s an “n” written there instead of a “w”. Is it just me or does am I not the only person who sees it?

Corrine Dodd Census

Listed here are Corrine and her siblings, along with her mother/father Josie/Josey (In one see census I’ve seen it listed as a male and in another as a female) along with someone named Otis Free.

Below is a picture from the same census where they’ve used a “w” for race.

Corrine Dodd Census 2

One thought on “Searching Process and Possible Mislabeled Census

  1. Catherine Eason

    Hey!
    So i looked at the census and while the highlighted line does look like an n, I think I know why ancestry listed it as white. If you look a couple of lines down at Shirley’s race it is more Wish but could be mistaken as an N. it looks as if the first dip of a cursive lower case double just got accidentally connected with the second up line..ya know what i mean?

    Not sure if that made since in words…if i could draw it i feel as if i could explain better…

Comments are closed.