Text, email and Facebook, oh my!

Hey, it’s catherine here. not sure if my name pops up or not.

first of all, i hate capital letters. i think lower case ones look cuter..so i’m just going to stick with those if that’s okay.

alright, now on to the actual post subject! my research has been going pretty well on my own family. i’ve been using the books that map out the lines and those have some pretty interesting stories in them. however, my favorite part has come from contacting some of my first and second cousins. i’ve gotten some pictures of my great-aunt and pictures of second cousins as children. most of these relatives i have known and been in contact with my whole life but are at least 15 years older than me. i didn’t know a lot about their childhood. of course, i heard lots of stories through out the years but now i get to hear them from the cousins themselves AND add all of their children to the family tree (baby cousins are my favorite)! and let me tell you, those baby pictures are cuuuuuuuuuu-oot. (that was my attempt at the  phonetic spelling of a drawn out “cute”…guess phonics missed my kindergarten class)

since everyone in class knows that i absolutely loveeeeee to talk ❤ communicating with family members has been my favorite kind of research!

 

P.S. i don’t know how many other people do this but i definitely find myself looking through photo and story hints on ancestry waaaaaaay before  records. haha 🙂

told you they were cute ;) and yes i can name them all.. and a lot are missing from this picture.. i know..biiiiiiiiiiig family.

told you they were cute 😉
and yes i can name them all.. and a lot are missing from this picture.. i know..biiiiiiiiiiig family.

may brinkley - profile.png

I remember going to her funeral last year but had never met her or even seen pictures… she was really pretty…no wonder Strom Thurmond asked her out 😉

ned jones-uniform.png

This is my great uncle Neddo (husband of above photo) in his military uniform. He is still alive, lives in Greenville and i used to see him at least once a month but i never knew he was on active duty. this was an exciting find as well 🙂