The Search Continues, With a Few Changes

After an exciting first few days that saw the addition of hundreds of people to my family tree, my excitement began to wane over the weekend. I still had a few hints popping up, but they weren’t as great in number, nor were they as helpful. I also had not broken through one of the few brick walls that I had encountered, this also stifled my enthusiasm. Prior to this week, I had done the majority of my research by clicking on the green leaves on my tree, but those hints can only take you so far. So, I decided to change my approach from a research style that mainly relied on Ancestry.com to a way of researching that drew from multiple resources – mainly FindaGrave.com, FamilySearch.org, and Ancestry.com. This research approach allowed me to break through a few of the barriers, and enabled me to dig deeper into the lives of the people I already had on my tree.

I discovered records that I thought didn’t exist pertaining to the first marriage of one of my great-grandmothers, I found military records from the Confederacy, and using contacts I made on FindAGrave, I was able to find out more information on my Hinton family line from Kentucky. I’ve also decided to reach out to as many people as possible, since they’ve been my greatest asset so far, so I’ve contacted several Ancestry members who have similar people in their family trees, and I’ve made contact with two of my cousins on 23andme. Hopefully I’ll hear back from some of my Ancestry contacts soon to aid in the expansion of my tree.

Even with more sources to draw from, I still have one unsolved mystery that bugs me. As I mentioned in my last post, I had been having trouble with my Gibson ancestors. I’d made it to my 2nd great-grandmother, and I’d found out her parent’s names from one of her living children, unfortunately, I haven’t been able to trace it any farther than that. This part of my family lived in the Spartanburg/Union area, so I plan to make another visit to the library tomorrow to see if I can unearth anything. Hopefully I’ll be able to find out what caused the deaths of my 3rd great-grandparents, and perhaps I’ll find out where they were from and who their parents are.