Using New Resources

This weekend, I finally started going through the non-digital information that my mom gave me recently. Although I didn’t get through as much of it as I would have liked, I was still able to add some valuable new information to my tree. I also liked how the information from actual books and letters seems to be more personal than just seeing a name, age, and birthplace on a census record on the Internet. I also learned about one of my ancestors from North Carolina that fought in the Revolutionary War. I hadn’t really been able to get back that far before, but due to a couple of important connections made with the help of my new resources, I was then also able to find a record of someone else’s application for Sons of the American Revolution on ancestry.com. It was interesting to see how they were also connected to my ancestor.

Once I’ve found several new people to put on my tree, I can then work on integrating information about them from ancestry.com with what I have from my other resources. I’m also still pretty slow and methodical when it comes to processing all the information and making sure that what I use in the tree makes sense, but I think I may be getting a little better as I do it more often. I should have plenty of opportunities for this, since I haven’t gone through the majority of my new information yet.