Internet Stalking 101

I will openly admit that I haven’t been focusing on my family tree as much lately. Instead, I’ve pretty much taught myself the art of internet stalking. Believe it or not, it’s harder than you’d think.

As I’ve mentioned in one of my earlier posts, I’ve been wanting to get in touch with someone who I think may be my half brother. Since then, I’ve been Facebook stalking and Googling anyone I can think of that is associated with him. My first step was of course to try to contact his mother and/or step-dad, but that failed when I figured out that they’re both currently incarcerated. After further searching ties to the family, I found his step-dad’s father and…well, he’s in jail too.

So without any other close family members to contact, I messaged some aunts and uncles. Surprise! None of them have had contact with him or his mom and step-dad for years. Just when I thought I didn’t have any other people to contact on Facebook, I remembered that he had a girlfriend about 2 years ago from seeing photos from a Christmas album on his mother’s Facebook profile. Thankfully, she’s active on Facebook and messaged me back. Now I’m currently trying to get any information I can. In fact, a few days ago, I found out that he’s staying with a friend and she might know how to get in contact with them.

I’m getting closer and closer, you guys! (: I’ll try to keep everyone posted, even after the class is over.

—-

In other news, on my Ancestry family tree, I’ve been trying to add some pictures to living persons from Facebook and such. Here are some examples:

541019_10150716561111544_1721955367_n

My Aunt Cathy (left), my mom (middle), and my great-grandmother (right)
Taken from Facebook.

471362_10150716555246544_1722162935_o

Me and my grandmother
Fact: They still have that truck, and it still works.
Taken from Facebook.

17174_289533811543_5679189_n

My mom and dad’s marriage photograph. They will be celebrating 20 years this summer and are renewing their vows. Excited! (:
Taken from Facebook.

One thought on “Internet Stalking 101

Comments are closed.